League, state and national honors for area athletes in baseball, softball and girls soccer

  • Written by Jeff Vorva



The three Players of the Year featured this week are who the Reporter-Regional newspaper deemed to be the best in the area.

Choosing these athlete is rarely easy. We have a deep pool of athletes to choose from – many have been decorated with honors several times. Here is a look at some of the area award winners:


LOUISVILLE SLUGGER ALL-AMERICAN: Our Player of the Year, Ryan Kutt of Brother Rice, and his teammate, Andrew Dyke were both named to the first team.

ILLINOIS HIGH SCHOOL BASEBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION: Kutt and Dyke made the Class 4A team along with Sandburg’s Kevin Lane. Chicago Christian’s Dan Vos and Evergreen Park’s Dan Smith were selected on the Class 3A team.

CHICAGO CATHOLIC LEAGUE: In the Blue Division, Kutt won the Player of the Year award while Dyke won the Tony Lawless Award.

Kutt, Dyke, Jack Nelligan and Mike Massey were Crusaders made the all-conference team while Anthony Rios, Anthony Robles, Angel Sandoval and freshman Matt McCormick were named for St. Laurence.

EAST SUBURBAN CATHOLIC CONFERENCE: Marist’s John Carmody, Zach Sefcik and Jack Snyder were named to the all-conference squad.


METRO SUBURBAN CONFERENCE: Chicago Christian was represented by Vos, Adam Schoenle, Jacob Bultuis, Tyler Edgar and Zach Frieling.

SOUTH SUBURBAN CONFERENCE RED: Richards placed Angelo Smith, Chris Zeschke, Ryan Renken, Andrew Calderon, Nick Mejia, Nick Fritz and Mitch Crook on the all-conference team.

Shepard’s Rob Marinec, AJ Alarcon, Jordan Noftz and Jack Carberry were named to the team.

Oak Lawn’s Chad Cwik, John Roberts, Justin Swatek and Liam Blake and Evergreen Park’s Jim Smyth and Smith were also were also named.

SOUTHWEST SUBURBAN CONFERENCE BLUE: Sandburg’s Brandon Comia, Andy Gaytan, Lane,  Eric Papierski and Jack Wolfe and Stagg’s Max Downs, Josh Nowak annd Nick Worst were named all-conference.


ILLINOIS COACHES ASSOCIATION: Marist’s Madison Naujokus was named to the Class 4A first-team All-State, Shepard’s Skylor Hilger and Heather O’Kelly plus Sandburg’s Ashley Wood to the second team and Marist’s Paige Egan, Emily Reilly and freshman Angela Zedeck joined Sandburg’s Sam Coffel on the third team.

EAST SUBURBAN CATHOLIC CONFERENCE: Marist landed five on the all-conference first team – Lizzie Annerino, Egan, Cassie Lindmark, Najokas and Zedak.

GIRLS CATHOLIC ATHLETIC CONFERENCE: Mother McAuley athletes who made the first team were Amy Balich, Holly Marousek, Kathleen Janiga and Alexis Smaharz while Queen of Peace players named were Ashley Lynch, Kelly Walinski and Lindsay Cudecki.

METRO SUBURBAN CONFERENCE: Chicago Christian’s Hannah Dieck, Bethany Regnerus, Brooke Veldman and Christa Janowiak made the all-conference squad.

SOUTH SUBURBAN CONFERENCE RED: Sara Kiziak of Richards was named the league’s Player of the Year for the second time in her career. She also earned it as a sophomore in 2014.

Richards’ Savanah Julian, Lauryn McManus, Becky Wujcik and freshman Isabel Martinez made the all-conference team with Angela Abrand being named honorable mention.

Shepard was represented by Heather O'Kelly, Skylor Hilger, Jalyn Stepney, Bryanna Cross and Gabriella Graffeo.

For Evergreen Park, Bethany Salazar, Maddie Meisl and Maddie Vojacek were all-conference players with Kelly Farmer named honorable mention.

Oak Lawn was represented by Marianna Vazquez and Jessie Hasset.

SOUTHWEST SUBURBAN CONFERENCE BLUE: Sandburg’s Coffel, Niki Saviano, Brianna Soltid and Wood joined Stagg’s Maria Shalabi and freshman Lexi Voss on the all-conference team.


ILLINOIS HIGH SCHOOL SOCCCER COACHES ASSOCIATION ALL STATE: Stagg’s Jazmin Castanon, Sandburg’s Kylie Hase and Marist’s Alex Lenz were named to the team.

IHSSCA ALL SECTIONAL: Queen of Peace’s Krysta Buche and Kelsey Healy and Marist’s Claire Collevy and Cara Donegan made the team.

IHSSCA SECTIONAL HONORABLE MENTION: Marist’s Ashley Smialek, Richards’ Isabella Nelson, Evergreen Park’s Dianne Oladejo, Stagg’s Veronica Stafira and Emily Stefan, Chicago Christian’s Abby Tiermersma, Shepard’s Heather Banis and Carolina Slaby and Sandburg’s Sarah DeWolfe and Sydney Rudny were honored.

EAST SUBUBAN CATHOLIC CONFERENCE: Marist’s Claire Collevy and Kelly Ferguson were named to the all-conference team.

GIRLS CATHOLIC ATHLETIC CONFERENCE: Queen of Peace’s Buche was named the White division’s Player of the Year. Teammate Healy was named to the all-conference team.

Mother McAuley’s Maggie Bettinardi was named all-conference in the Red division. 

METRO SUBURBAN CONFERENCE: Chicago Christian’s Tiemersma and Karlee Kuyvenhoven were selected to the all-conference team.

SOUTH SUBURBAN RED: Shepard’s Banis was named Player of the Year while Slaby and Amer Mason were named to the all-conference team.

Dominique Miller and Shannon Meegan of Richards were named to the all-conference team.

Oak Lawn’s Marianna Vazquez and Jessie Hassert plus Evergreen Park’s Jamoriah Gross and Oladejo were also named to the first team.


SOUTHWEST SUBURBAN BLUE: Sandburg’s DeWolf, Hase, Rudny, Bella Strolia and Christine Szymanski were all-conference.

For Stagg, Castanon, Sydney Downs, Stafira and Stefan made the all-conference squad.