A look at area all-state and all-conference athletes

  • Written by Jeff Vorva


The four Players of the Year that are featured this weeks are just the four tips of the iceberg.

The area was not hurting for talent and even though the Reporter/Regional picked recognized one player in sport in which at least half of the area school participated in, there are many more who deserve recognition and received it.

There is a look of those stars:


AMERICAN VOLLEYBALL COACHES’ ASSOCIATION: Our Player of the Year, Sandburg’s Jake Hanes, was named to the All-America team.

ILLINOIS HIGH SCHOOL VOLLEYBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION: Hanes made the first team, Sandburg teammate Grant Burdon made the second team, Brother Rice’s Jimmy Baker and Garrett Dedrichs made the third team and Marist’s Aaron Kumer and Mike Burci were honorable mention.

CHICAGO CATHOLIC LEAGUE: Brother Rice’s Jack Burke, Steve Lona, Dedrichs, Zach Rothstein and Joe Kenzinger were named to the Blue Division team while St. Laurence freshman Mike Sack made it to the White team.

EAST SUBURBAN CATHOLIC CONFERENCE: Marist’s Kummer was named Player of the Year. Jack Berglind, Burci and Colin Meyer were named to the all-conference team.

SOUTH SUBURBAN CONFERENE: Senior outside hitter David Allen of Richards was named the league’s Player of the Year while Jake Fleming, Carlos Draper, Frank Hesik and Eyad Omar were named to the all-conference team.



Oak Lawn’s Jack Linder and Cody Figus also made the team along with Shepard’s Candelario Delfin, David Prince and Dylan Dodge.

SOUTHWEST SUBURBAN CONFERENCE: Sandburg’s Colin Ensalaco, Burden and Hanes made the Blue team and Stagg’s Pat Roach was named to the Red squad.


Individuals who qualified for state were Chris and Sean Torpy, Ayo Abiona, Jibreel Brown and Dylan Jacobs of Sandburg, Neiko Carter Caleb Washington and Corey Williams of Shepard, Jelani Edmond and Tajh Salas of Brother Rice, Doug Kosch and Lonnie Chambers of St. Laurence, Joey Ryan of Evergreen Park and Elijah Butler and Ben Friesen of Chicago Christian.

Relay team members who ran at state were Sandburg’s Tom Brennan Brandon Lukas, David Gleisner, Jordon Woods, Jibreel Brown, Leo Epsino, Josh Scheldberg, Jacobs and the Torpy twins, and Chicago Christian’s Friesen, Nathan Krygsheld, Toddy Kruzich, Alex Kruzich, Daniel Bailey, Luke Rattler, Butler, Connor Pearson and Joe Hoefler.


Individuals who qualified for state were Raquel Funches and Ashley Bryja of Mother McAuley, Kyla Jimmar of Richards, Maryclare Leonard of Marist, Jada Jackson of Shepard, freshman Chibueze Obia of Sandburg, Deanna Stewart, Kaitlyn Murphy, Grace O’Toole, Shaketta Bracey, Lily Sadler and Meleah Tines of Evergreen Park, Arianna Jones and Elizabeth Graczyk of Queen of Peace and Jill VanDyk, Rylei Jackson and April VanRyn of Chicago Christian.

Relay team members who ran at state were Marist’s Coleen Murphy, Carlin McNulty, Nora Doyle and Jill Broza, McAuley’s Osayi Osaremwinda, Alexandria Bryant, Evelyn Gorman, Funches, Cassandra Grosskopf, Kelly Gallagher and Ashley Bryja and Chicago Christian’s Allie Boss. Alexis VanRyn, April VanRyn and VanDyk.


Singles state qualifiers were Michal Wolan and Kevin Wancik, Sandburg’s Jonluke Passett, Shepard’s Paul Milkus,

Doubles qualifiers were Brother Rice’s Ryan Cunnea-Brenden Leibforth and TJ Saas-Joe Mendala, Stagg’s Patrick Harper-Luke Schendl, Sandburg’s Adam Cardidi-Anthony Coffel, Oak Lawn’s Michael Rodriguez-Patrick Skupien and Chicago Christian’s Charlie Blim-Li Zhang.