Trinity sports report

  • Written by Tim Cronin

Postseason awards handed out to athletes

  There was one piece of unfinished business after Andy Reidsma competed in the NAIA track meet.
  He needed to be officially recognized by his school for all his good work throughout the 2013-14 season.
  Reidsma, who placed a career-best third in the 10,000-meter run at the national meet and earned All-America honors in the process, completed his collegiate career by being named Trinity Christian College's Male Athlete of the Year for 2013-14. He leaves as the Trolls' record holder in the 3,000 and 5,000 runs, both marks set during the indoor season.
  In addition to his track exploits, Reidsma's senior campaign featured a fourth place in the NAIA cross country final and a National Christian College Athletic Association cross country championship last fall. He was a proven commodity in the classroom, too, as evidenced by his earning scholar-athlete status.
  Reidsma was also one of two Trinity athletes to receive the school's Athletic Leadership award.

  Senior volleyball player Jessica Wiltjer was selected as the Female Athlete of the Year and teammate Kirsten Harms collected the other Athletic Leadership award. The two helped the Trolls advance to the NAIA Championship for the first time last fall, Wiltjer doing so by being the team leader in attack percentage and No. 2 in kill percentage.
  The middle blocker was second nationally in total blocks.
  A good softball season resulted in a quartet of Trolls from that sport receiving recognition.
  Pitcher/third baseman Brianna Brugioni collected an All-Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference first-team spot, thanks to a 9-4 regular-season record that included two shutouts and a 1.94 earned-run average. Captain Mattie McGuire scored a second-team All-CCAC berth for her work in the circle and at first base, and leadoff hitter Anna Phillips (.335) joined McGuire on the latter squad.
  Senior Michelle Interrante was feted for her academics as she collected a hat trick of
scholar-athlete baubles from the NAIA, NCCAA and CCAC.
  Trinity's baseball team also had a few honorees, including All-CCAC first-teamers Mark Munizzi and Joe McCaw. Steve Brewer was a second-team selection, and the trio of Vince Van
Schouwen, Peter Krygsheld and Taylor Boice, were chosen for the conference's All-Academic squad.
  Boice matched Interrante by also collecting scholar-athlete honors from the NAIA and NCCAA.
  One non-athlete who was recognized at Trinity's awards ceremony was Dr. Steve Timmermans.
  The college president was presented the Rich Kooy Award for off-the-field contributions to the athletic program as a whole. He spearheaded the development of athletic facilities, including the Schaaf fields on Route 83 and the expansion of the gymnasium complex.