Lottery decides positions for gubernatorial primary ballot

  • Written by Dermot Connolly

Campaigning for the 2018 gubernatorial election being held March 20 officially got underway on Monday when Cook County elections officials held ballot lotteries to decide the ballot positions of the various candidates.

Candidates from established parties were required to submit nominating petitions between Nov. 27 and Dec. 4.

In total, Cook County Clerk David Orr and Director of Elections Noah Praetz held 15 lotteries, including 14 for the first ballot spot, and one for last ballot spot. All were for Democratic Party races.

The 14 lotteries for the first position on the ballot were comprised of candidates competing for the same office who filed their nomination petitions simultaneously at 9 a.m. Nov. 27, the first day of candidate filing. A separate lottery was held for the candidates who filed between 4 and 5 p.m. Dec. 4.

Anyone who filed nominating papers after 9 a.m. Nov. 27, and before 3:59 p.m. Dec. 4, will be listed on ballots in the order they filed.

Locally, the most interesting race is likely to be the one to replace Cook County Commissioner Ed Moody (D-6th), who has decided not to run for election. The three candidates in that race, listed in the order they will appear on ballots, are Patricia Joan “Tricia” Murphy, Louis Presta and Donna Miller.

Murphy, a Crestwood resident, is the daughter of the late Joan Murphy, who held the seat before Moody was appointed to replace her when she died last year. Presta is the mayor of Crestwood, and said recently that he intends to remain mayor if he is elected commissioner. Miller is a healthcare consultant based in Lynwood.

Incumbent Commissioners John Daley (D-11th) and Sean Morrison (R-17th), are running unopposed in their primaries. Steve Spagnolo, of Willow Springs, is running in the Democratic primary for the 17th District seat, but his candidacy has already been challenged.

Cook County President Toni Preckwinkle, who pushed unsuccessfully for the unpopular sweetened beverage tax, is being challenged in the Democratic primary by Bob Fioretti, He introduced himself at a recent Chicago Ridge Village Board meeting, where he and Mayor Chuck Tokar noted that they were in law school together. Andrew CM Nelson is running in the Republican primary for that position, but his candidacy is among those that have already been challenged.

Other contested primaries include Cook County Assessor Joseph Berrios running for re-election, and listed first in his race against Frederick “Fritz” Kaegi. Cook County Treasurer Maria Pappas is running against challenger Peter Gariepy, who won the lottery to be listed first in that race.

Cook County Sheriff Tom Dart will face two challengers in the Democratic primary -- Edward “Eddie” Acevedo and John Fairman.

In the clerk’s race, Orr will not be running for another term. The candidates who will be running in the Democratic primary are Stephanie Joy Jackson-Rowe and Jan Kowalski McDonald.

The four people vying for a seat with a six-year term on the Metropolitan Water Reclamation Board of Commissioners are Marcelino Garcia, Debra Shore, Kerri K. Steele and Martin J. Durkan, who will be listed in that order.

In the other Cook County Board races, incumbent Richard R, Boykin is being challenged by Brandon Johnson in the 1st District; and incumbent Dennis Deer, appointed to replace the late Robert Steele in the 2nd District earlier this year, will be running against Paul J. Montes II, Lupe Aguirre, Darryl D. Smith and Eddie Johnson III.

In the 3rd District, five candidates are vying to replace retiring Jerry Butler. Listed in the order of appearance on the ballot are Joshua Gray, Bill Lowry, Patricia Horton, Chaise A. Williams and Steven R. Wolfe. Cook County Commissioner Stanley S. Moore (4th) will face challenger Maria M. Barlow, followed by Gaylon Alcaraz and Robert R. McKay on the ballot.

In the 5th District, incumbent Deborah Sims is running against Timothy ‘Tim’ Parker, followed by Audrey Lynn Tanksley and Dexter Johnson in order of appearance on ballots.

 The 8th District race will pit incumbent Koyis Arroyo Jr. against Victor Manuel Cuebas II, while in the 12th District, incumbent John Fritchey will be running against Bridget Degnan.

In the 13th District, Bushra Amiwala is running against incumbent Larry Suffredin, and in the 14th, incumbent Kevin B. Morrison is being challenged by Ravi Raju.

Objections to candidate filings were due in by 5 p.m. this past Monday for all the races. The list and status of candidates will be updated on the website at