Early birds hope to catch the term

  • Written by Bob Rakow

PAGE-1-ElectionOak Lawn Trustee Bob Streit and two other hopefuls for the Oak Lawn Village Board gathered outside the village’s clerk’s office Monday morning waiting to submit their nominating petitions for the 2015 municipal elections.


The same scenario occurred in village halls throughout the suburbs this week as candidates for local offices took the first critical step in their bids to achieve local office.


Candidates have until Monday to submit petitions for the April election.


In Oak Lawn, Streit was joined at village hall by Dan Johnson and Bud Stalker, both who are running for the District 5 seat being vacated by two-term incumbent Carol Quinlan.


Streit, meanwhile, is being challenged by J. John “J.J.” Zurek, who also submitted his petitions Monday.


District 1 Trustee Tim Desmond signaled his intentions to run for a four-year term by turning in his petition signatures on Monday. Desmond was elected to a two-year term in 2013.


As of noon Tuesday, neither Scott Hollis, a relative newcomer to the village, nor Steve Loulousis, who previously ran for trustee, submitted petitions. Both have said they planned to challenge Streit in the 3rd District.


Additionally, Paul Vail, who announced his candidacy in March, had not yet filed petitions to run in District 5. Vail is a member of the village’s planning and development commission.


While Oak Lawn residents can expect an eventful campaign season, residents of the other communities in the Reporter coverage area also can look forward to some interesting races.


In Evergreen Park, incumbents Mary Keane, Mark Marzullo and Jim McQuillan are running for re-election to the six-member village board. They will be joined on the ballot by challenger Christopher Trzeciak, president of the Evergreen Park High School District 231 school board.


In Chicago Ridge, incumbents Jack Lind and Dan Badon have submitted nominating petitions, as has Fran Coglianese, a long-time clerical employee at the Chicago Ridge Village Hall.


Bill McFarland, a paid-on-call firefighter and a member of the Our Lady of the Ridge school board, and Don Pratl, a former trustee and member of the School District 218 board, have indicated they will run for trustee but had not submitted petitions as of Tuesday.


In Palos Hills, there are contested races for alderman in two of the city’s five wards.


Mike Lebarre and Sonia Khalil are running for the 3rd Ward seat vacated by Ald. Bill Hansen. In the 5th Ward, Dawn Nowak is challenging incumbent Frank Williams. Additionally, incumbents Marty Keefisch (1st), Pauline Stratton (2nd) and Joseph Marrotta (4th) have turned in their petitions.


Hickory Hills Mayor Mike Howley, City Clerk D’Lorah Catizone and Treasurer Dan Schramm submitted petitions on Monday.


Additionally, Joe Mancuso has filed to run for alderman in the 2nd Ward and Colleen Kelly, a member of the Lyons Township Town Board, turned in signatures for a run in the 4th Ward.


In Worth, trustees Mary Rhein and Warren Soldan along with challenger Bruce LeBeau have submitted petitions.